Colorado private investigators are still being asked to renew their licenses despite the fact controversial legislation to renew licensing law is stalled in the State House and might not succeed.
Emails recently went out to investigators asking them renew by the end of May. The fee is $16. If PIs don’t renew in time they are given a 60-day grace period and charged a late fee, before licenses are “deemed expired.”
However, the future of licensing remains uncertain as the Department of Regulatory Agencies, which administers the law, is opposed to the licensing regime and the legislature is running short of time to pass the required legislation.
HB20-1207 – Sunset Regulation of Private Investigators – is currently stalled before the state’s House Appropriations Committee as the legislature was forced to lock down in March because of the COVID-19 pandemic.
The current law will be repealed on Sept. 1 if no action is taken by the legislature.
But DORA legislative affairs director Michael Nicoletti told this blog the government has to “proceed based on current law.”
“Current law is that PIs are still required to be licensed in Colorado. I can't predict what will happen when the legislature reconvenes as there are many variables beyond our control in that process,” says Nicoletti.
DORA has spoken out publicly against the law after releasing a scathing report saying complaints about private investigators in Colorado were “virtually nonexistent.”.
Under the private eye law, since 2015, 77 complaint files were opened and only eight disciplinary actions taken. Of those, six were conditional licenses, issued to individuals because of behavior prior to being licensed, not after. Of the remaining actions, two were dispensed to one individual who was issued a letter of admonition as well as a practice stipulation for harassment against another private investigator.
No private investigator licenses have been revoked under the current law.
Private investigators have been regulated by DORA since 2011. Requirements to obtain a private investigator’s license include being at least 21 years old, submitting an application, passing a background check, passing a jurisprudence exam, posting a surety bond and paying fees.
Sign-up for email alerts to follow the latest developments in the world of private investigators.